Veteran rapper Kurious has released The Mystery Mixtape, a 10-track project produced entirely by Mono En Stereo.

For those not fully up on Kurious, he first gained attention in the early 1990s New York hip-hop scene. In 1994, he released his debut album A Constipated Monkey through Hoppoh Recordings, an imprint created by Bobbito Garcia and Pete Nice of 3rd Bass, in partnership with Columbia Records, who at the same time was preparing the release of two other young upstarts named Nas and Big L.

Kurious & Mono En Stereo Team Up For New 10-Song Project ‘The Mystery Mixtape’

He even collaborated with the late underground hip-hop icon MF DOOM, appearing on DOOM’s 1999 album Operation: Doomsday.

After his debut album, Kurious took a hiatus from releasing music due to what he described as a “terrible” contract with Sony. He later reemerged in the late 1990s and has been especially active in recent years. In late 2023, he dropped the Monkeyman LP, produced by Cut Beetlez.

Mono En Stereo, the producer behind The Mystery Mixtape, brings a seasoned ear to the project, having worked with notable artists like Your Old Droog, Homeboy Sandman, and Action Bronson.

Tracklist for The Mystery Mixtape:

1. Pure Intentions (4:09)

2. A Lot Going On (2:41)

3. Bridges and Tunnels (1:50)

4. Forgot My Keys (2:06)

5. Don’t Know (3:13)

6. BX G Funk (3:07)

7. I Don’t Even Exist (2:47)

8. 800 Lbs feat. Art Morera (2:38)

9. World Needs Love (3:24)

10. Purpose and Leisure (2:44)